Tutor Icon  Request A Tutor
Untitled

Joel S

Home TutoringHome Tutoring
No Online TutoringNo Online Tutoring
No International TutoringNo International Tutoring

Subjects I teach

Graduate: Law
German to A Level
US University Applications (All Subjects): Essays, General Applications and Interviews
UK University Applications: Personal Statement and Interviews
Public Speaking
Debating

My Experience

I have more than 11 years general teaching experience. In that time, I have tutored both individuals and larger groups in competitive debating, Economics, German and Law. I have worked with students from 11 years old up to university level. Examples of my past teaching experience include: Graduate Level: One to one sessions with university students in Economics, Law and German A2 Economics and Law Debating Coach (London Borough of Newham) Advising year 12 and year 13 students with US and UK university applications

My Qualifications

Call to the Bar of England & Wales (Gray’s Inn)
Postgraduate (BPP University Law School): Bar Professional Training Court (BPTC) Outstanding
Bedingfield Scholarship (Gray’s Inn) the most prestigious award for the BPTC
Graduate (University of Oxford): B.A. (Hons) Jurisprudence (with Senior Status) – 2:1 (completed at an accelerated pace over two years) D’Souza Prize – 1st in year on the course
Graduate (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA) B.A. Economics and Political Science with Highest Distinction – Overall GPA: 3.87/4.00 (First Class Equivalent) Morehead-Cain Scholarship Morehead Cain Class of 2012 Keynote Speaker – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qBrgCXGIEZU
Graduate (Free University, Germany) Advanced German Language Studies – Overall GPA: 3.93/4.00 (First Class Equivalent) German Academic Exchange Service Scholarship (DAAD)
A2 (St. Angela’s & St. Bonaventure’s Sixth Form Centre, London) German, English Literature, History – AAA (These represent highest achievable grades at the time)
AS (St. Angela’s & St. Bonaventure’s Sixth Form Centre, London) German, English Literature, History, Mathematics – AAAA (These represent highest achievable grades at the time)
GCSE (St. Bonaventure’s School, London) 8 A*s and 2As

My Approach to Private Tuition

As a tutor, I recognise that every student has a different learning style and I work quickly to identify what that is for my clients and to tailor my methods to suit each individual. Having completed two undergraduate degrees and an exam heavy professional training course, I have been in an exam hall more times than anybody should during an educational career. As such, I focus heavily on mastering exam technique because I understand the importance of the final result. While I have the same high expectations of my students that I do of myself, I strive to make the material interesting and relevant so that our sessions do not feel like just another hour in the classroom.

My video Introduction


Fun fact

You can often find me on stage around London performing improvised comedy.