Tutor Icon  Request A Tutor
Untitled

Camilla S

I would like to help you achieve your goal.

Home TutoringHome Tutoring
Online TutoringOnline Tutoring
International TutoringInternational Tutoring

Subjects I teach

GCSE Maths (AQA, Edexcel, OCR, iGCSE)
GCSE Sciences (Edexcel, AQA)
Medical School Admissions Test/
University Admissions Advice
Personal Statement/
University level Coursework (essay writing and scientific reading)
Violin (All levels)

My Experience

I started tutoring in 2013 alongside my first degree and have continued doing so to the present. I tutor predominantly GCSE Maths & Science and Violin at all levels and ages. I have also worked in a classroom environment as a teaching assistant and lead teacher at Cardinal Pole Catholic School in secondary school Maths and Science. I am most familiar with Edexcel, AQA and OCR exam boards regarding academics. Musically, I follow ABRSM standards and work at the level that the student desires (novice to expert). Other experience includes personal statement feedback and university coursework. This includes advice covering structure, content and delivery of a personal statement. For university coursework, I discuss how scientific articles should be read and analysed efficiently, as well as how this information is effectively integrated into an essay.

 

My Qualifications

University of Bristol (2017-2022)
MB ChB Medicine N/A

King’s College London (2012-2015)
BSc (Hons) Biomedical Science 2:1

International School of Zug & Luzern (2010-2012)
IB Diploma 37
IB CAS Award

SYMC| FONDATION SUISA
Swiss Youth Music Competition | Classical Violin Category Winner (2011)

Copenhagen International School (2008-2010)
Student of the Year Award Grade 10

Yehudi Menuhin School (2002-2008)
Previous teachers: Susie Meszaros, Berent Korfker, Lars Bjornkjaer and Susanna Lussi Coray.

My Approach to Private Tuition

My primary goals during tuition are to build a good rapport with my students and work towards enabling them to become better independent learners. I encourage active learning through conversation and tasks. In addition, I use visual aids such as powerpoint slides, study books and diagrams. I like to discuss individual learning styles and habits: this is covered during the introductory session and allows me to adapt lesson plans and delivery accordingly. Whilst independent learning is an important aspect of progression, I offer extra support with homework and mentoring outside lesson time. It makes me extremely happy and proud to see my students grow and I hope that they learn to appreciate the value of a strong education.

My video Introduction


Fun fact

I’m rubbish at team sports BUT I’m an avid rock climber and have sent a few climbs in the Peak District and Snowdonia!