My Passion & How I Inspire

I believe in taking a holistic approach to tutoring my students. I

encourage tutees to find a healthy, happy way to engage with their

subject, and inject every session with a positive, energetic outlook that

ensures every session is full of productivity and direction for where to

take it next. I am now working on US central time-zone, which comes in

extremely handy for continuing edit and review work even when my UK

students are sleeping, so that pressing deadlines are met with ease. I

especially enjoy the challenge of covering new topics with my students -

making sure the final product is equally engaging for specialists and

external examiners alike.

My Experience

I am a Cambridge Graduate 'Super-Tutor' with just under 10 years'

experience working with tutees in a wide variety of subjects both ancient

and modern, at all levels up to and including MBA.

As part of my degree at The University of Cambridge (MA, Classics) I

completed a 20,000 word dissertation researching and sourcing material

from Rome and The UK, and since graduating I have helped hundreds of

students and professionals. This work has covered dissertations, theses

and reports ranging from 2,000-20,000 words - assisting with all phases

from research, data analysis, and writing to the final proofread to ensure

the work is accessible, high quality and interesting for the reader at all


I have been tutoring with Tavistock Tutors since 2013, and prior to that

worked with The Cambridge Programme (Engligh as a Foreign Language,

musical direction and drama), The Learning Centre in Hong Kong (Oxbridge

Entrance and Classics), Blue Tutors and K&C Tutors (Latin, Classics,

Classical Civilization, English Literature and Language, and Verbal and

Non-Verbal Reasoning. My background also includes several years working in

the City as a Headhunter (across the FMCG, Retail, Financial and

Consulting sectors) and have since retrained as an actor (2 years training

at the Poor School), and am a qualified yoga instructor (200 hours).

Subjects That I Teach

  • Archaeology
  • Archaeology - A-Level
  • Archaeology - GCSE
  • Archaeology - Undergraduate
  • Archaeology - 11+
  • Dissertation
  • Dissertation - A-Level
  • Dissertation - GCSE
  • Dissertation - Undergraduate
  • Dissertation - 11+
  • Drama
  • Drama - A-Level
  • Drama - GCSE
  • Drama - Undergraduate
  • Drama - 11+
  • GRE
  • GRE - A-Level
  • GRE - GCSE
  • GRE - Undergraduate
  • GRE - 11+
  • Greek
  • Greek - A-Level
  • Greek - GCSE
  • Greek - Undergraduate
  • Greek - 11+
  • Latin
  • Latin - A-Level
  • Latin - GCSE
  • Latin - Undergraduate
  • Latin - 11+
  • Non Verbal Reasoning
  • Non Verbal Reasoning - A-Level
  • Non Verbal Reasoning - GCSE
  • Non Verbal Reasoning - Undergraduate
  • Non Verbal Reasoning - 11+
  • Verbal Reasoning
  • Verbal Reasoning - A-Level
  • Verbal Reasoning - GCSE
  • Verbal Reasoning - Undergraduate
  • Verbal Reasoning - 11+

My Qualifications

4 A*s, 6 As, 1 B GCSE

3 As, 1 B A-Level

2.i Honours (Cambridge)

2-year Acting Training (The Poor School, London)

My Reviews

‘My daughter is so enthusiastic after your sessions; she’s already ahead of the rest of her class in their pop-quizes and has just moved up from a predicted B to an A’

‘Thank you again for all your help with my dissertation. Your style of teaching is great, you always came to see me in the most positive happy attitude which really makes the lessons easier and puts me in the mood to work. I also think the way you go about it is great, not just doing the work for me, but rather helping me to understand it, helping me to understand what you are doing and subsequently what I am doing, and most importantly actually making me learn what I am talking about, for example all the research methodology impossible stuff that I can now recite. You were great at managing time and helping me to keep calm despite dead lines looming. Over all it was a fantastic experience. I would not hesitate to recommend you to anyone, no matter what they are studying. I would also not hesitate to call you again should I need help during my time at BPP studying law (probability of this about 90%).’

'We connected with Tara through Tavistock Tutors, which was recommended by my son's school. The agency was very helpful and swift to reply, and get us in touch with Tara to help my son with his Latin studies. The entire experience has been very smooth and positive! Tara is always prompt, responsible, positive, and dedicated to doing a great job. My son's confidence has improved dramatically - now he feels able to face this new subject and expect good results. Tara has been wonderful in helping him get over his initial difficulty, and on to "business as usual" in his Latin classes. With her support, I have no doubt that he will continue to progress and will ace his exams (while not being stressed!).'

My Video Introduction

Fun fact

I love rock climbing in my spare time – I find it a great way to balance the body and the mind and keep them concentrating on one thing!