Tutor Icon  Request A Tutor

Shefali S

I'm here to inspire you.



Home Tutoring
Online Tutoring
No International Tutoring

    My Experience

    As I have been fortunate enough to have an international education between both the United States and the United Kingdom, I have had several years of varied tutoring experience within different education systems!

    Some of my experience highlights include:

    At the 11+ Level, I have experience with the Common Entrance Exam for both grammar and private schools, including entry to Pates Grammar School, High School for Girls (Grammar), Salisbury Grammar School, Westonbirt School, St Helen’s and St Katharine’s, and Royal High School Bath.

    I have been a team coach for a Mathematics Olympiad Team between the ages of 11-13 years old, and led them to a podium finish

    I have also worked with a student who did not speak English as their first language on his essay writing and critical reading skills, helping him go from a B to an A student.

    I currently tutor through my university’s “Peer Assisted Learning” programme on voluntary basis, where I teach medical students in the year below on clinical and non-clinical topics of their choosing.

    Subjects I teach

    British:
    11 + English, Maths, Verbal Reasoning, and Non-Verbal Reasoning
    GCSE Mathematics, Further Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, History, Psychology
    AS Level Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology, Psychology
    A Level Mathematics, Biology
    Medical School Entry: UKCAT

    American:
    ACT and SAT Exams
    Pre-Algebra, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Pre-Calculus
    AP Calculus AB & BC, AP Biology, AP Chemistry, AP Physics 1, AP World History, AP Psychology, Advanced Calculus
    SAT II Subject Tests: Mathematics Levels 1 & 2, Biology E & M, Physics, Chemistry

    My Qualifications

    St Helen’s and St Katharine’s, Oxfordshire (Years 7 & 8)
    – Sat Mathematics GCSE early at age 13, achieved A*

    Bellevue High School, Seattle
    – GPA: 3.93 / 4.00
    – Class Rank: 11 / 411 students
    – ACT Score Composite 35 /36 (top 1%)
    (English: 36/36, Mathematics: 33/36, Reading: 36/36, Science: 33/36, English/Writing: 34/36, 10/12)
    – Recipient of National Advanced Placement Scholar Award 2015 and 2016
    – Senior Captain of Water Polo Team, National Honour Society Board Member
    – Accepted into University of Washington (UW), University of California (UCLA), University of California San Diego (UCSD), and Northwestern University.

    King’s College London (ongoing)
    – Medicine MBBS; First Degree Honours

    My Passion And How I Inspire

    Out of all of my years of tutoring students, there’s one thing I can say for sure – no two students are the same. Within the first few sessions with my pupil, I aim to quickly assess skill and confidence levels and individual learning styles and to plan future lessons accordingly.
    Above all, I will aim to boost confidence and to inspire a passion for learning – qualities that students can carry through to their educational careers past their tutoring engagements.
    Expect lots of practice exams and pop quizzes to test and ensure that material has been understood. I will also provide students and parents with very specific feedback and work with them to create targets and goals in order to mark progress.

    Fun fact

    I’m a bit of an accent chameleon. If someone speaks to me in a British accent, I’ll automatically reply in my British one. If I’m speaking to my American friends back home, my American accent automatically “switches on”! This happens subconsciously, if I don’t want to switch I have to make a real concentrated effort.

    Call Now Button