Nilesh C

My Passion & How I Inspire

My belief is that to truly do well in academics, you must have an interest in the subject. My interest in the science and math was developed over years through my high school studies, and more specifically, my tutor when I was in school. Science truly gives you the ability to help others in the future and to me, passing this knowledge on is imperative to our future.

I try to foster my students' interest in the subject by engaging them to ask unusual questions they would not normally ask about the material, and go about answering these intriguing questions together. I make learning games to drive the students motivation and passion for the subject through reward-based competition and to show them how effect the tutoring has been (and to make the boring days somewhat fun!).

Understanding the student and their needs in an academic and non-academic sense and only then, together, developing a plan of action is my way to ensure success of the tutoring. At the end of the day, when you have a tutor, you also get a mentor and this is what I aspire to be for my students.

My Experience

I have tutored over 15 students for over a total of 500 hours in London! What I believe in is tutoring tailored to the individual student. I apply this method to every student I tutor. I have tutored in math, biology, chemistry and physics at 11+, 13+, (I)GCSE, A-level and IB, and all my students have excelled after tutoring. They have either reached or far surpassed their goals. I have also helped several with university applications and all got offers to the universities and courses of their choice.

I have lived in several countries worldwide, speak 5 languages (English, Hindi, Bengali, French and A2 level Spanish) and have tutored students in Thailand, Dubai and India. This allows me to understand and engage with a diverse set of students.

I am currently completing a PhD at the University of Cambridge with a prestigious scholarship I was awarded for developing my own project in the field of cancer therapy and am a demonstrator for undergraduate medical and natural science students.

I have also tutored special educational needs (SEN) students, including those with dyslexia. I am also experience in online tutoring and am capable of tutoring at the same face-to-face level, online.

Subjects That I Teach

  • Biology
  • Biology - A-Level
  • Biology - IB
  • Biology - GCSE
  • Biology - 11+
  • Biomedical
  • Biomedical - A-Level
  • Biomedical - IB
  • Biomedical - GCSE
  • Biomedical - 11+
  • Chemistry
  • Chemistry - A-Level
  • Chemistry - IB
  • Chemistry - GCSE
  • Chemistry - 11+
  • Medicine
  • Medicine - A-Level
  • Medicine - IB
  • Medicine - GCSE
  • Medicine - 11+
  • Pharmacy
  • Pharmacy - A-Level
  • Pharmacy - IB
  • Pharmacy - GCSE
  • Pharmacy - 11+
  • Physics
  • Physics - A-Level
  • Physics - IB
  • Physics - GCSE
  • Physics - 11+
  • Science
  • Science - A-Level
  • Science - IB
  • Science - GCSE
  • Science - 11+

My Qualifications

International Baccalaureate (IB)

IB Biology HL - 7

IB Chemistry HL - 7

IB Math HL - 6

IB French B SL - 7

Extended Essay Chemistry - A

University (Undergraduate): Imperial College London, UK

BSc. Biomedical Science (1st Class Honours)

Ranked 1st in first year and 2nd in second year

Best Coursework 2nd year

Best Dissertation 3rd year

Student Representative for BSc. Biomedical Science

University (Postgraduate): University of Cambridge, UK

PhD. Pharmacology (currently completing - 2nd year)

Harding Distinguished Scholar

Student Representative Harding Scholarship

My Video Introduction

Fun fact

I enjoy running obstacle course races (Spartan Races) worldwide and have completed several. I am competing in the Trifecta World Championships in Sparta!