My Passion & How I Inspire

I believe that people are naturally curious, and that finding that curiosity is the best way to motivate my students. I listen to them and try to find their personal strengths and interests, and tailor my tutorials to play to those strengths and interests.

Perhaps also worth mentioning is that I have dyspraxia, which was diagnosed while I was studying at Oxford. I have lots of experience working with dyslexic and dyspraxic (SEN / SpLD) students, so if you're experiencing similar difficulties Ill hopefully be able to help.

My Experience

In 2015-16 I spent 14 months working as a tutor and academic supervisor to a 17-year-old boy in Saudi Arabia, studying for the International Baccalaureate. I tutored him for Higher Level (HL) Business and Management, HL English B (language acquisition), Standard Level Maths, HL Art, Theory of Knowledge, Extended Essay). From a poor starting point due to his at-the-time undiagnosed dyslexia, and very weak English skills, I worked with him to turn his situation around and he was accepted onto the international foundation programme at Oxford Brookes university.

In 2016 I spent one month tutoring two students in Warsaw for their IGCSE English, one of whom has since secured a Cambridge interview for Land Economy. I also tutored a student preparing for the American SAT exam.

For three months in 2014-15 I tutored a GCSE English student on Skype for one hour per week, receiving excellent feedback.

In November 2014 I conducted mock Oxbridge interviews for 20 students.

In 2014 I spent 4 months tutoring a student for AS Level Maths one hour per week.

Subjects That I Teach

  • ACT
  • ACT - Further
  • English
  • English - Further
  • GRE
  • GRE - Further
  • Maths
  • Maths - Further
  • Philosophy
  • Philosophy - Further
  • Religious Studies
  • Religious Studies - Further
  • Theology
  • Theology - Further

My Qualifications

'- University of Oxford

- BA Philosophy & Theology, Upper Second Class (2:1)

-Wolverhampton Grammar School

A-Levels: Maths, Further Maths, English, Music Technology, AS-Level Art (all A grades, before A* was introduced, but all wouldve been A* in the new system)

GCSEs: 7A* (Maths, English Language, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Music, Art), 3A (English Literature, History, Italian)

School prefect

Young musician of the year for Wolverhampton

Music scholarship at my school

My Reviews

From my Saudi student:

You really helped me a lot, not only in my studies but with my English, with how to organise myself, with how to write notes, with how to study in a fun way. Thank you again.

From one of my students in Warsaw:

Miles Lawrence has prepared me for IGSCE international in English Language. He was a great source of knowledge that he received at the University of Oxford. He did not only thought me how to grammatically write but how to write with a persuasive way for the reader. He has patience for everyone and brings out the best that is possible in the student.With his ability to teach and his youthfulness he is the best teacher one can have.

From the 20 students I provided mock Oxbridge interviews for, I received 95% excellent or good feedback in the follow-up survey they filled in.

My Video Introduction

Fun fact

Ive lived in four different continents - North America, Europe, Africa, and Asia.