Michael P

I'm here to inspire you.

Home Tutoring
No Online Tutoring
No International Tutoring

    My Experience

    I have more than five years of tutoring experience in London, the Home Counties, the Bristol area and in Madrid.

    My tutoring experience has chiefly encompassed Geography, Spanish and English as a foreign language. I have also tutored Management, Business Studies, and French.

    Some examples of past experience include:

    Between Mar and Jun 2012, I tutored two girls GCSE AQA Geography, turning their initial predicted D grades to a B and an A respectively.

    Between Oct 2012 and Mar 2013, I tutored a number of Spanish students learning English as a foreign language, needing qualifications in CAE, TOEFL, IELTS and TOEIC exams. All of my students passed their exams, the majority with high marks to move on to their chosen pathways in English-speaking countries across the world.

    Between Dec 2013 and Jun 2015, I tutored a family in Reading, the two eldest of whom was preparing for ISEB Common Entrance exams into Wellington College, Berkshire. I predominantly helped with Geography and Modern Languages but also oversaw History and offered an overarching guidance on study skills and exam technique. I am happy to say that both siblings secured places into Wellington College. I continue to tutor them while at Wellington.

    Subjects I teach

    Geography up to A-Level
    Spanish up to Undergraduate
    Management Undergraduate

    My Qualifications

    University: Royal Holloway, University of London
    – BA (Hons) European Studies 2:1

    Current University: University of the West of England
    – MSc Urban Planning (-2017)

    My Passion And How I Inspire

    With all my tutees, I take a professional but friendly approach. I have always performed best in classes that were made enjoyable and that enthused me to think for myself so as to better understand the subject in question. As such, I instill this in all my sessions.

    When I first meet with tutees, I discuss their current position and ascertain their aims and goals. Quite often, if a tutee would like to achieve a particular grade, I will aim for them to achieve the grade higher.

    Throughout my time with tutees, I will plan my lessons to include a combination of me talking, and most importantly, the tutee talking to me. Despite planning my lessons, I Iike to keep them flexible so as to best address particular issues as they arise e.g. an upcoming test or piece of large coursework.

    Above all, I build a trusting and friendly relationship with all my tutees so that they can learn in a fun and non-pressured environment. I’m a passionate and driven individual and, for me, there is nothing more rewarding than seeing my students achieve their goals and beyond.

    My video Introduction

    Fun fact

    I can play the piano by ear, repeating anything I’ve listened to with no problem. However, I still find it challenging to read simple music!

    Call Now Button