Mari W

I'm here to inspire you.



Home Tutoring
Online Tutoring
No International Tutoring

    My Experience

    My first degree was in Medical Pharmacology (BSc) at Cardiff University’s School of Medicine, having been passionate for science from a young age. After graduating, I worked in the industry for a year as a Clinical System Designer for PRA Health Sciences from where I gained a fascinating insight into the world of clinical trials. These experiences exposed me to numerous clinical experiences which I truly enjoyed and developed a passion for. I was enthused by the idea of applying the theoretical knowledge in a practical setting and making a difference to someone’s life.

    After arranging a lot of work experience, I decided that Medicine was to be my next venture which has brought me here to study Medicine at UCL. Such events have allowed me to gain a high level of scientific and medical knowledge which will equip me to provide high quality lessons. Furthermore, I have gained an in-depth understanding of the university application process. My applications have been well received and have led to me being accepted into top institutions in the UK, receiving my first choice courses on both occasions. As a tutor, I have previously worked with students of all ages and abilities from a variety of backgrounds.

    Please find below a breakdown of my previous tutoring and mentoring experiences;

    Pre-clinical Medicine:
    Pre-clinical Medicine tutoring to a group of medical students in years 1 and 2 at UCL

    University Admissions Counselling:
    General information/advice talks to secondary school students
    Reviewing medical personal statements for UCAS
    Medical interview practice
    BMAT/ UKCAT/GAMSAT tutoring

    Previous private tutoring:
    GSCE and below: English, Mathematics and Science
    Mentoring younger students in years 7-11

    Subjects I teach

    Up to university level:
    Pre-clinical Medicine with special interests in Human Physiology and Pharmacology (MBBS/BSc)
    University admission counselling

    Up to A level:
    Biology

    Up to GCSE level:
    English Literature, English Language, Welsh Literature, Welsh Language, Mathematics, Physics, Biology, Chemistry, Psychology, Music, Geography, Physical Education and Religious Education

    My Qualifications

    Cardiff University 2012-2015:
    BSc Medical Pharmacology

    Maes-Yr-Yrfa Secondary School:
    A level: Chemistry, Biology, Physical Education, Welsh Baccalaureate
    AS level: Psychology
    GSCE: English Literature, English Language, Welsh Literature, Welsh Language, Mathematics, Science (double award), Geography, Music, Physical Education, Religious Education and Information Technology

    Piano: Grade 7
    Duke of Edinburgh: Bronze and Silver

    My Passion And How I Inspire

    I have had a passion for science from a young age therefore studying this topic at A level and university made sense to me and something I was really excited about! Medical Pharmacology is the study of the uses, effects, and modes of action of drugs. I then worked with clinical trials, where I could apply this knowledge and see everything I learned at university come to life. During university and my year in industry I gained valuable experience of working in a clinical setting which I truly enjoyed and gained a passion for. Additionally, I had numerous friends who studied Medicine and knew how much they loved their course. After arranging a lot of work experience, I decided that Medicine was my next venture – I am now studying Medicine at UCL and can truly say that this is what I was destined for.

    If I had not received high quality tutoring throughout my education, I wouldn’t be where I am now. As a result, I want to give back to the community and help students maximise their potentials. Whilst studying Medicine, I feel like I can truly make a difference to people’s lives, and I think teaching would allow me to do this too. There’s nothing quite like seeing the spark of understanding on a child’s face as a lesson “clicks” for them. I want to impact students regardless of their background, imparting lessons that will help shape their futures.

    I would inspire students by encouraging them regularly as I understand the importance of a student feeling like their work is recognised and valued. I make sure that students feel confident by supporting them to participate in the lessons, as an example by active recall. Finally, I make the student feel inspired by setting goals and explaining that hard work will equal success.

    My video Introduction


    Fun fact

    I have represented my country playing netball!

    Call Now Button