Kelly F

My Passion & How I Inspire

Getting to know my student is key to having success in the tuition programme. Tailoring my lessons to ensure they speak to a pupil, whatever age, on a personal level is crucial to academic achievement. Whether it’s putting a maths problem into a visual format or using the natural environment to develop descriptive skills, I aim to bring the subject matter alive for my students and make the learning process a fun and interactive one.

My Experience

Having worked in a London Prep school for 6 years, I have taught English, Maths and Science across Key stages 1-3. My private tuition experience includes preparing students for some of the most sought after London and countrywide schools. My students have had success at CLC, Wycombe Abbey, St Paul’s, City of London, Bancrofts, Chigwell and many others. I have extensive experience teaching students with additional learning needs such as Dyslexia, Autism and processing difficulties. I have homeschooled students out of school for personal and medical reasons and relish the opportunity to prepare a bespoke programme of education. My experience as an assessor for the National Curriculum tests has given me an in depth understanding of examination technique and I regularly coach pupils in these skills. My GCSE English students have improved their grades from a 5 to a 9 in the new grading system. I have tutored many students looking to learn English as a Second Language and had success preparing them for IELTS exams.

Subjects That I Teach

  • English
  • English - GCSE
  • English - Common Entrance
  • English - 11+
  • Geography
  • Geography - GCSE
  • Geography - Common Entrance
  • Geography - 11+
  • History
  • History - GCSE
  • History - Common Entrance
  • History - 11+
  • Maths
  • Maths - GCSE
  • Maths - Common Entrance
  • Maths - 11+
  • Science
  • Science - GCSE
  • Science - 11+

My Qualifications

I studied for the PGCE at the Institute of Education, London after graduating from Cardiff University with an LLB Degree in Law. My A levels were in Biology, History and Psychology. I am also a qualified Youth Worker.

My Reviews

Gina: Kelly was my English tutor during the final months of preparing for my GCSEs and helped me specifically in English Literature (which was what I was struggling with). She was a fabulous English tutor and helped me a great deal. With her help I managed to achieve a grade 9 in my English Literature GCSE.

Alex I : Kelly tutored my two primary aged children, aged 8 and 11, from January – May 2014. She helped tutor my eldest son through his 11+ exams, which he passed, and subsequently got into his first choice of school. She taught them both in English, Maths, Science and History. She is very passionate about teaching. She is approachable, reliable, conscientious and has a sunny disposition.

I would happily have Kelly tutor my children again in the future.

Gail: Kelly, we thought you were fantastic!

My Video Introduction

Fun fact

I once climbed to the top of a glacier in Iceland only to end up sliding down in the ice!