Home Tutoring
No Online Tutoring
No International Tutoring

    My Experience

    I am a private tutor offering tuition to children aged 7-18 preparing for internal school exams, the 11+ and Common Entrance as well as entry and scholarship tests to the UK’s top independent schools. I also offer revision support to GCSE and A level students, preparation for university entrance as well as general after-school homework support for any age. I have over three years’ experience as a private tutor and governor working both in London and internationally since 2012 alongside London’s top private tutoring agencies. I have prepared students for scholarship tests to Eton, Westminster, Winchester, Wycombe Abbey and for general entry to Harrow, Winchester, Radley, Oundle, Ampleforth College, Wetherby, Marlborough College, Bryanston, St. Paul’s, Charterhouse, Cheltenham Ladies, Benenden & Latymer Upper. 

I work primarily in London but have also worked on residential placements abroad between 1 week and 8 months in length for families living in The Bahamas, the USA, Switzerland, France, Italy, Monaco and Hong Kong. I am currently a Masters student of voice at the Royal Academy of Music and would be more than happy to supplement academic tuition with music lessons or vice versa.

    Reviews

    “We have 2 young girls and they have made enormous strides under Jolyon’s guidance. Jolyon is a very charming young man and we have found him a delight to have in our homes in The Bahamas and Sun Valley, Idaho. He had a brilliant education and have been very sensitive to the best way to teach our girls, experimenting with various approaches when progress was slow. In this regard, I regard him as a very creative educator, a rare find these days. Unfortunately for us, he is pursuing a career in music and returning to London, otherwise we would employ him forever. He is honest, diligent, unobtrusive, compassionate, empathetic, highly intelligent, and truly enjoys the art of teaching. I recommend him wholeheartedly and without reservation.”

    Subjects I teach

    French up to undergraduate level
    Italian up to undergraduate level
    Latin up to A-Level
    English up to Common Entrance
    Maths 11+
    Verbal & Non-Verbal Reasoning 11+
    Scholarship preparation
    Interview Practice
    Exam Technique
    Piano, Singing & Music theory
    Oxbridge interview preparation

    My Qualifications

    2014-2016 Royal Academy of Music, London
    MA – Vocal Performance (Bass/Baritone)

    2008-2012 University of Oxford (Magdalen College)
    BA (Hons) – 2:1 – Modern & Medieval Languages – French & Italian

    2001-2008 The King’s School, Worcester
    A-Levels: A – French, A – Latin, A – Music, A – Chemistry
    GCSEs: A* – English Literature, A* – English Lang. & Lit, A* – Maths, A* – Spanish, A* – French, A* – Latin, A* – Music, A* – Biology, A* – Chemistry, A* – Physics

    My Passion And How I Inspire

    I encourage my students to think for themselves and to learn the study techniques that will help them do that. I aim to act as a mentor and buddy, reducing any feelings of stress and allowing the student to see their work as easily doable, even fun, when approached in the right way.

    My video Introduction


    Fun fact

    I have a three-legged cat called Boris!

    Call Now Button