Jack B

My Passion & How I Inspire

I go for a flexible approach to tuition. Will ask what goals a student wants to achieve and see how I can help them in achieving them. I don’t believe that any two students are the same and there is no universal rubric to teaching. I have worked with students with more mathematical minds and more creative minds, and I have varying techniques for different types of student.

I try to lay down a broad plan at the start but am willing to change and adapt in accordance with what’s working and what’s not. I always listen to parents and students, and try to take on board any comments or changing goals. Over the course of a GCSE, A-Level or Undergraduate course students will develop and change, so the teaching plan must adapt with that.

I often teach students more than one subject, which allows for me to help balance and time-manage. Some students, for instance, may struggle with one subject and take very naturally to another, and so time should be allocated accordingly. Furthermore, I believe that students need time to relax and switch off from work. Tutoring should never be an added stress for a student – it should help make school and home-life more balanced, so I will rarely set extra work unless really necessary.

Furthermore, I always try my best to respond to their school education. Tutoring shouldn’t be a separate course to school education: in order to get the most out of tutoring, it should be about responding to school classes and trying to inform education more generally.

My Experience

Numerous students over the past 5-6 years in all the topics above and some others. I have also helped with University applications. All of my students have exceeded their predictions in exams.

I have also traveled abroad to teach students during their family holidays.

Subjects That I Teach

  • ACT
  • ACT - A-Level
  • ACT - GCSE
  • ACT - Undergraduate
  • Drama
  • Drama - A-Level
  • Drama - GCSE
  • Drama - Undergraduate
  • English
  • English - A-Level
  • English - GCSE
  • English - Undergraduate
  • History
  • History - A-Level
  • History - GCSE
  • History - Undergraduate
  • Politics
  • Politics - A-Level
  • Politics - GCSE
  • Politics - Undergraduate

My Qualifications

English (BA, 2.i, University of Cambridge, graduated in 2017)

English, History, Politics and Music (A Levels, A*, A, A, A* respectively)

Fun fact

My parents say my first word was “Dadoo”… Which isn’t even a real word!