My Passion & How I Inspire

If you enjoy a subject and believe that you have potential then you are more likely to work hard at it and gain good results, which is why it is so important to make classes enjoyable and build the student’s confidence. I try to do this by tailoring my classes to their interests and ensuring that the student recognises their strengths and weaknesses (always praising their strengths and acknowledging any progress).

All students learn differently so it is important to see what works best for each individual student and plan the lessons accordingly. It is essential that the student has a constant sense of achievement, so I always ensure that we discuss what we are going to do at the beginning of the lesson and finish by summing up what the student has learnt. I love tutoring because of the great relationships I have with my tutees and the fact that it is so rewarding.

My Experience

I am a professional tutor with many years of teaching experience that includes work in both schools and private homes in England and abroad. I am enthusiastic, hard working, caring and have a strong knowledge of the UK curriculum.

Private Tuition

Aug 15 Nice, France

I tutored two English girls aged 9 and 13 in maths and English

Oct 13 to June 15 Alicante and Madrid, Spain

During my 16 months in Spain I gave private English classes to children from seven different families, aged between 4 and 11.

Oct 14 to June 15 UK and via Skype

Over the past year I have been helping my 15 year old brother prepare for his GCSE oral and written French exams

Other Teaching Experience

Oct 14 to June 15 CEIP Gabriela Mistral, Madrid, Spain (Teaching Assistant)

Taught 8-10 year olds in English, Natural Science and Social Science classes for 16 hours a week

Prepared children for the PET and KET and Cambridge English exams

Sept 13 to June 14 CEIP Bautista Lledó, Benidorm, Spain (Teaching Assistant)

Taught English to 3-6 year olds for 16 hours a week

Used the Jollyphonics method to teach children to read and write

Oct 11 to Feb 12 Maupard Fiduciaire accountancy company, Paris, France (Secretary)

Taught four hours of English classes a week to the staff, which involved preparing my own grammar exercises and using a business vocabulary related software

Oct 11 to Feb 12 Wikids Primary School, Paris, France (Teaching Assistant)

Taught English two days a week to 4-8 year olds

Sept 07 to April 09 Kumon Maths and English tuition group, UK (Tutor)

Assisted children aged 3 to 17 with literacy and numeracy skills and marked their work

Feb 09 to March 09 Bischof Dr Christian Schreiber Schüle, Frankfurt, Germany (Teaching Assistant)

Helped teach English to a class of 10 year olds

Subjects That I Teach

  • English
  • English - A-Level
  • English - GCSE
  • English - 11+
  • French
  • French - A-Level
  • French - GCSE
  • French - 11+
  • German
  • German - A-Level
  • German - GCSE
  • German - 11+
  • Italian
  • Italian - A-Level
  • Italian - GCSE
  • Italian - 11+
  • Maths
  • Maths - A-Level
  • Maths - GCSE
  • Maths - 11+
  • Spanish
  • Spanish - A-Level
  • Spanish - GCSE
  • Spanish - 11+

My Qualifications

BA French and Italian (2:1), University of Bristol

A Levels in German (A), French (A) and English Literature (A)

Advanced Extension Award French (Merit)

In 2007 I was given the school award for outstanding achievement in French

Violin Grade 7

My Reviews

‘Florence has demonstrated a remarkable ability to work in a school setting. Her ability to connect with the students and her talent at teaching are both superior’. Teacher at Bautista Lledò School, Benidorm

My Video Introduction

Fun fact

I have taught in four different countries (Spain, France, Germany and England) – only about 190 to go!