Subjects I teach

English Literature GCSE
English Literature KS3 + KS2
English Language Up to GSCE
Proof Reading
Essay Writing

My Experience

In 2012 I spent eight months as an English Language Assistant in Italy. My classes varied from the ages of 14 to 18 years old and I was often in charge of a group of up to 30 students. In order to keep their attention while making progress with their English skills, I had to be extremely thorough in my lesson planning, as well as fun and original.
During this time I also took on a number of private students whom I helped improve their language and English skills based on their needs. Lessons varied from conversational to analysing passages of text and were always tailored specifically to the students’ goals.
From my time at university and as a journalist and editor, I have a keen eye for detail and excellent essay writing skills.

My Qualifications

2:1 with Honours in French and Italian, The University of Manchester.
A Levels: English Literature A, Geography A, French B. AS Level: Psychology B. GCSEs: English Literature A, English Language A, Religious Studies A*, French A, Geography A, Double Science AA, Mathematics A, Music B, Textiles B; All Exmouth Community College.

My Approach to Private Tuition

Having spent a long time learning various languages, I know how frustrating it can be to struggle with something which is why I tailor my lessons to include fun and creative activities which never make learning seem like a chore. I work with each student individually to discover what they need and how best to reach their aims or goals, whether that be grade based or simply to improve their confidence in a subject.

My video Introduction


Fun fact

My first job when I left university was a six month internship in Cambodia!