Subjects I teach

Maths
Sciences
Social studies
Foreign languages
English/literature/language arts/reading/writing
Test prep for American standardized exams (PSAT, SAT, etc.)
Preparation for entrance into American schools and universities. All ages (6-18).

My Experience

I have been employed in tutoring and teaching on-and-off since 2001. In my very first job, I spent two years mentoring 9-10 year old girls in a program called Bringing Up Girls in Science. I have tutored/mentored/taught in three different residential summer programs. In these settings, I lived amongst hundreds of youth ages 13 to 17 with diverse needs and levels of ability. I instructed them in various subjects while also engaging them in outdoor pursuits, arts and crafts, community field trips, and other leisure activities and teaching them good character and life skills. I have three years of experience working as an upper-high school level English teacher in Dallas and Houston area schools through the prestigious Teach for America program and have prepared students for the important Advanced Placement (AP) exams. Last but not least, I have a great deal of experience in helping students prepare university and scholarship essays and applications. I am currently on the point of taking up a prestigious teaching fellowship/faculty position in the Honors College at the University of Mississippi.

My Qualifications

I hold a BA in English with a Creative Writing Specialization from Southern Methodist University, a top-tier American university located in Dallas, Texas, where I was the recipient of a full-tuition President’s Scholarship, a National Merit Scholarship, a $20,000 National Coca-Cola Scholarship, a $8,500 Richter Fellowship for a research project in Ghana, and numerous other competitive awards. I also hold a first-class MPhil in African Studies from the University of Birmingham, UK, where I held a Marshall Scholarship for 3 years. (The Marshall Scholarship is an extremely prestigious award available to American students for post-graduate study in the UK. Recipients are chosen for their extraordinary academic records, service to the community, outstanding personal character, and potential to make a difference in the future of US/UK society.)

Included in and in addition to these educational programs, I have completed numerous university-level courses in history, political science, economics, finance and accounting, foreign languages (French, Spanish, Italian, and Arabic), maths (through advanced calculus level), biology, chemistry, physics, ecology/environmental science, and psychology.

I have consistently scored in the top 5% of test-takers on important American standardized exams such as the PSAT, SAT, and GRE. On the GRE (the primary exam used for graduate school admissions in the US), I am in the top 3% of test-takers nationally for English/verbal reasoning and in the top 1% of test-takers for writing.

I am certified in the US as a classroom teacher for health, social studies, and English language arts and reading for students ages 13 and older.

My Approach to Private Tuition

First I listen deeply, ask good questions, and seek to understand the client’s desired outcomes for the tutoring experience. Then, I work like crazy to familiarize myself with the specific material to be covered and equip myself with all the resources I need to do my job well. I think about the most effective ways of instructing individual students so that no one’s time or resources are wasted. I build strong, positive relationships with students because I believe that young people learn best when they feel appreciated, with their own personalities and interests taken seriously into account. I am a self-directed, independent thinker who likes to come up with creative, enjoyable ways of meeting the end goals and specifications I am given.

My video Introduction


Fun fact

I am an alto in my church choir and a guitarist/lead vocalist in an indie rock duo!