Subjects I teach

11+
13+ Common Entrance
KS2 – Primary School
English as a foreign language (EFL)
Verbal/Non-verbal reasoning
English
Maths
Science
Geography up to undergraduate

My Experience

I have been tutoring since 2009.

As a tutor for multiple London tutoring agencies over the past 3-4 years, I have :-

11+ Tuition: I have around 500 hours experience tutoring 11+ English, Maths, Verbal and Non-verbal reasoning.

One of my most recent 11+ students arrived in the UK only 18 months prior to his 11+ exam with very basic English skills, and through weekly tuition I managed to support him in gaining entrance to seven of the UK’s most prestigious schools (including City of London Boys’, Habs and Magdalen College School Oxford). As well as classroom learning, I took the student on many day trips to museums and cultural sites across London, and have supplied him with over 80 fiction/non-fiction books to increase his reading ability and cultural/historical understanding of the UK.

13+ Tuition: I have around 450 hours experience tutoring 13+ Common Entrance English, Maths, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Geography, History and French. Students of mine have obtained places at St Pauls, Harrow, Eton, Brighton College, Charterhouse, Oundle School and Wellington College amongst others.

Geography (GCSE, IB, A-Level and Undergraduate): I have over 250 hours experience tutoring Geography from year seven level up to postgraduate degree level. Through this, I am au fait with all the exam board specifications.

University-level support:
Helping students at UCL, LSE, Imperial College and Kingston University with essay/dissertation proofreading and advice, and general module support. All four students went on to achieve firsts or a 2:1 in their degree result.

SEN tuition:
I have experience tutoring students with dyslexia, dyspraxia and ADHD, and have learnt a variety of methods to improve their learning and help them to achieve their full potential.

I taught in China for one year (2009-2010), combining lecturing in a University with private tutoring to specific clients and in evening schools.

I tutored in Sevilla (2010-2011), Spain for six months in a private academy.

I was Student Services Director of Bell Language School (Oxfordshire) in the Summer of 2013, overseeing the welfare of over 250 foreign students aged 13-17 years old. Similarly, I was a Residential Warden at Studio Cambridge language school in the Summer of 2011, and House Parent at Cambridge Academy of English language course in the Summer of 2012.

I have also done residential placements across the UK, and in France, Italy and Greece, working with students while on vacation to offer ongoing support in preparation for exams, often playing a semi-pastoral role on such trips (arranging excursions, leading sports and activities with the students etc)

My Qualifications

BSc Geography (University of Edinburgh) – 2:1
MSc Environmental Technology (Imperial College London) – Distinction
HSK Level 4 Chinese Mandarin Proficiency Level (equivalent to Upper-intermediate/B2).

My Approach to Private Tuition

My tutor sessions revolve around the student’s needs and requirements from the outset, by finding out what the student feels they most need to cover during that session. I encourage the student to do the majority of talking, and create an atmosphere in which they feel comfortable asking questions at any point. More often than not, the student – through discussing concepts and answers, will arrive at the answer they need through encouragement. My overall aim is to eventually tutor my student out of tutoring, so that they have developed the personal studying skills and knowledge in which they are no longer reliant on the tutoring itself.

On residential placements I am more than willing to get involved in extra-curricular activities and help out with family activities. My tennis coaching qualification, and ability in other sports (both land and water-based) have been extremely useful on past residential placements, and my knowledge of French, Spanish and Chinese Mandarin also come in very handy when supporting families on vacation in those countries.

I have organised excursions for students on previous residential placements, both educational and recreational, and have a full driving licence and am first-aid qualified.

I have learnt the importance of ensuring tutorial sessions while in residential locations are as engaging as possible, as studying and focusing for students while in holiday settings can be challenging.

My video Introduction


Fun fact

I am a serial tv quiz show competitor! I have been on seven different game shows, winning two of them and finishing runner-up in two more. A great opportunity to put my knowledge to the test with the reward of prize money!