Tutor Icon  Request A Tutor

GCSEs are usually the first major exams that students must sit. They are typically taken in Year 10 and 11, though teaching may start earlier. Recently reformed by the government, it can be confusing to understand how they work. How do you select which ones to study? How do you prepare for them?

GCSE stands for General Certificate of Secondary Education. There are currently over 50 GCSE subjects to choose from. The number of GCSEs taken by students varies, and different schools have different standards. The typical range is 8-12 GCSEs, but Maths and English Language are compulsory.

GCSEs are often daunting for students, as they constitute the start of their official academic careers. They must study a range of subjects all at once, which allows them to identify their strengths and weaknesses before they are required to specialise.

Despite rumours, GCSEs do matter to universities and employers. In fact, they will likely become more important for universities as A-Levels become linear. It has been shown that private tuition can be beneficial for students confidence and academic performance, so feel free to get in touch with our Tutoring Service and well do what we can to help.

Here we explain

How GCSEs work
How GCSEs work
GCSE pick subjects
How to pick subjects
GCSE prepare
How to prepare

By phone:

020 7803 1190

By post:

Tavistock Tutors
174 New Bond Street

Opening Hours:

Monday - Friday 7am-8pm

If you are interested in speaking with someone of our US university consultants contact Tavistock Tutors

Contact Tavistock Tutors